2024 Nascher/Manning Award

To apply, please select "sign in" in the top right corner of the page to log in or create an account.

< return to list
Signup Deadline: 12-01-2023


Ignatz Leo Nascher, MD, argued that medical care for older adults should be considered a separate specialty, for which he coined the term “geriatrics” in 1909. Through the generosity of the Manning family, the intent of the Nascher/Manning Award is to honor Dr. Nascher’s pioneering work in the field by recognizing an individual with distinguished, life-long achievement in clinical geriatrics.


The intent of this award is to honor Dr. Nascher's pioneering work in the field of geriatrics by recognizing an individual with distinguished, life-long achievement in clinical geriatrics, including medicine, psychiatry, and all other relevant disciplines. The awardee may have achieved distinction in clinical geriatrics through activities such as innovative program development or administration of outstanding clinical programs.

Nomination Process 

Nominations should consist of a letter of nomination, with at least one additional letter of support from colleagues, and the nominee's curriculum vitae. The nomination letter should specifically address how the individual's accomplishments relate to the purpose of the award.\\

Please provide a 150-word summary statement of your nominee's achievements which we will use in our announcements and speeches. Your summary should focus on the impact they have had or will have on the field of geriatrics.

This award is presented biennially during even-numbered years (e.g., 2022).


$1,500 will be awarded to the recipient.

Past Recipients of the Nascher / Manning Award

2022      Jerry C. Johnson, MD, AGSF
2020      Todd Semla, PharmD, MS, AGSF
2018      William Applegate, MD, MPH, MACP, AGSF
              Thomas Edes, MD, MS
2016      William Hazzard, MD, AGSF
2014      Paul McGann, MD
2012      Joseph G Ouslander, MD AGSF
2010      Mathy Mezey, EdD, RN, FAAN
2008      Jeffrey B. Halter, MD
2006      Patricia P. Barry, MD, MPH
2004      Kenneth L. Minaker
2002      John Morley, MB, B.Ch
2000      Peter Boling, MD


Denise McAlpin