2023 Clinician Of The Year Award

To apply, please select "sign in" in the top right corner of the page to log in or create an account.

< return to list
Signup Deadline: 12-01-2022



This award was established to recognize the great contributions of practitioners to delivering quality healthcare for older people, as well as to showcase the importance of the geriatrics clinician in our healthcare system. Through these clinicians' efforts, scientific advances are integrated into the practice of geriatrics, resulting in improved well-being and quality-of-life for older people.


We welcome nominations for exemplary geriatrics clinicians whose primary focus is on caring for older adults in the office, hospital, long-term care facility, or community. Nominees must spend at least 90% of their time in the delivery of geriatrics care. Nominees must be AGS members.

The following list suggests some of the qualities or characteristics of the clinicians we wish to honor. Awardees should be dedicated to

  1. Maintaining a high level of professional competence through continuing education;
  2. Being available and accessible to patients;
  3. Communicating clearly and carefully with patients and their families;
  4. Being aware of the ethical and social issues inherent in the practice of healthcare; and
  5. Contributing to community healthcare efforts.

Nomination Process

Nominations should consist of a letter of nomination, at least one additional letter of support from colleagues, and the nominee's curriculum vitae. The nomination letter should specifically address how the individual's accomplishments relate to the purpose of the award. 

We encourage AGS state affiliates to nominate their members who meet the criteria for this award. Past candidates have been recipients of local "Clinician of the Year" awards before being nominated by state affiliates for this national honor.


$2,000 will be awarded to the recipient.

Past Recipients of the Clinician of the Year Award

2022     Helen S. Kao, MD 
2021      Faith Atai, MD 
2020      James Lin, DO, MS, MHSA 
2019      Kellie Flood, MD 
2018      J. Eugene Lammers, MD, MPH, FACP, AGSF 
2017      Fatima Sheikh, MD, CMD, MPH 
2016      Lisa Tank, MD, FACP 
2015      Ronald S. Duemler, MD, MS, CMD 
2014      Pamela S. Tronetti, DO, AGSF 
2013      Rosemary D. Laird, MD, MHSA 
2012      Niharika N Suchak, MBBS, MHS, FACP 
2011      Margaret A. Noel, MD 
2010      Jerome Epplin, MD, AGSF 
2009      Michelle S. Eslami, MD 
2008      Valisa Saunders, MN, APRN, BC, GNP 
2007      Rebecca D. Elon, MD, MPH 
2006      F. Michael Gloth, II, MD, FACP 
2005      Henry Schneiderman, MD, FACP 
2004      Roy Bradford Whitney, Jr., MD 
2003      Taylor Graves, MD 
2002      Jerry M. Earll, MD 
2001      Daniel Haimowitz, MD, FACP, CMD 
2000      Steven C. Castle, MD


Denise McAlpin