2024 Outstanding Junior Research Manuscript Award

To apply, please select "sign in" in the top right corner of the page to log in or create an account.

< return to list
Signup Deadline: 12-01-2023



This award will be given to a junior investigator (Assistant Professor/Instructor or equivalent) who has been first author on an important or interesting peer-reviewed geriatrics research article within the past year. 


This award is targeted to junior investigators who are in the career development stage of their research career, who have not yet obtained independent research funding (R01 or equivalent). The junior investigator must be first author on an outstanding peer-reviewed geriatrics research journal article. Selection of award winners will be based on the novelty of the work presented; methodological rigor; clarity of presentation; and potential to influence geriatric practice, policy, or future research. Papers that were published between September 1 and August 31 of the year preceding the award presentation are eligible.

Application Process 

Applicants must complete the online nomination form, including submitting a biosketch (NIH-style, 4 pages maximum) and a copy of the manuscript. Applications will be reviewed and the awardee selected by the Research Committee of the AGS. 

Please provide a 150- word summary statement of your nominees' achievements which we will use in our announcements and speeches. Your summary should focus on the impact they have had or will have on the field of geriatrics.


To recognize his/her outstanding achievement, the awardee will receive a letter documenting the award and an award certificate.

Past Recipients Of The Outstanding Junior Research Manuscript Award

2023    Lauren Hunt, PhD, RN, MSN
2022    Claire Ankuda, MD, MPH, MSc
2021     Jennifer Watt, MD, PhD
2020     Anil N. Makam, MD
2019     Victoria L. Tang, MD, MAS
2018     Benjamin H. Han, MD, MPH
2017     Halima Amjad, MD, MPH
2016     Rebecca Brown, MD, MPH
2015     Helena M. Blumen, PhD
2014     S. Ryan Greysen
2013     Jane Saczynski, PhD


Denise McAlpin