2021 Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award

To apply, please select "sign in" in the top right corner of the page to log in or create an account.

< return to list
Signup Deadline: 12-02-2020


Dennis W. Jahnigen, MD (1947-1998), was acclaimed as an extraordinary teacher, receiving numerous awards from students and faculty. In 1998, the AGS awarded him the Milo D. Leavitt Award to recognize his distinguished career in geriatrics education. Dr. Jahnigen's clinical skills and heartfelt, compassionate concern for older adults continue to flourish in the many students who have benefited from his teaching and mentorship.


This award is given annually to an AGS member who has provided leadership to train students in geriatrics and has contributed significantly to the progress of geriatrics education in health professions schools. Teaching expertise as well as educational program development is valued in the selection of the recipient for this honor.

Nomination Process 

Nominations must consist of:
  • A letter of nomination. The nomination letters must attest to the applicant’s involvement in the AGS and the field of geriatrics, and must specifically address how the individual's accomplishments relate to the purpose of the award. 
  • One additional letter of support from colleagues (limited to 1 page).
  • The nominee's biosketch (NIH-style, 4 pages maximum), and a mentoring table/summary. 


Travel expenses to attend the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting.

Past Recipients of the Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award

2020    John B. Murphy, MD
2019    Nicole Brandt, PharmD, MBA, BCGP, BCPP, FASCP
2018    Jane Potter, MD, AGSF
2017    Maura Brennan, MD, AGSF, FACP, FAAHPM, HMDC
2016    Annette (Annie) Medina-Walpole, MD, AGSF
2015    Barbara Resnick, PhD, RN, CRNP, FAAN, FAANP, AGSF
2014    Elizabeth K. Tanner, PhD, RN
2013    Gail Sullivan, MD, MPH
2012    Leo M Cooney, Jr., MD
2011    Sharon A. Levine, MD
2010    G. Paul Eleazer, MD
2009    Samuel C. Durso, MD, MBA
2008    Rosanne M. Leipzig, MD, PhD
2007    Steven R. Counsell, MD
2006    Kenneth Brummel-Smith, MD
2005    Harvey Jay Cohen, MD
2004    Terry T. Fulmer, PhD, RN, FAAN
2003    William Hall, MD, Rochester, NY
2002    Gregg A. Warshaw, MD, Cincinnati, OH
2001    Evelyn C. Granieri, MD, Pittsburgh, PA
2000    David B. Reuben, MD, Los Angeles, CA
1999    John R. Burton, MD


Dennise McAlpin
American Geriatrics Society