2019 Clinical Student Research Award

To apply, please select "sign in" in the top right corner of the page to log in or create an account.

< return to list
Signup Deadline: 01-03-2019



Attention: Applying for this award requires you to 1) complete the award application (select "apply today" from above) and 2) submit an abstract via the abstract submission site.


This award will be presented to an undergraduate student in medicine, dentistry, nursing, social work, pharmacy, occupational therapy, or physical therapy for presenting original research at the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting.


Selection is based on submission of a high-scoring abstract for presentation at the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting, and on evidence of an early and promising career in clinical geriatrics research, education, or public health (as demonstrated by supporting letters of recommendation and evidence of productivity in a curriculum vitae). Qualified applicants may have additional education, such as an MPH or MCS degree, but must be participants in a clinical education program in medicine, nursing, pharmacy, or similar degree-granting course of study.

Application Process

Applicants must complete:
  • an awards application (click "apply now", above)
  • submit an abstract of research or research-in-progress electronically via the abstract submission site
  • The student's curriculum vitae 
  • A letter of support (limited to 1 page) from the student's advisor/research mentor outlining the student's role in the research, as well as his/her interest in and promise for an academic career in the appropriate aging-related field, must be uploaded using the nomination form.  


$500 travel stipend to attend the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting.

Past Recipients of the Clinician Student Research Award

2018    Michael Liu

2017    Laura E. Hatchman, BA, MD Candidate

            Jessica Rizzuto, BA MPP

2016    Margaret Puelle, BS
2015    Justin Yamamoto
2014    Julie Thai, MPH
            Lucille Brunker
2013    Nerissa Duchin
            Bianca Methvin
2012    Israel (Riley) Peña, Jr.
2011    Siobhan M. Case, BA, MS-II
2010    Cynthia So, BS, MSII
2009    Melissa M. Fish, MS-II
2008    Gina Fujikami, MSIV
2007    Priscilla Yee, MSIV


Dennise McAlpin
American Geriatrics Society