2021 Health in Aging Foundation New Investigator Award

To apply, please select "sign in" in the top right corner of the page to log in or create an account.

< return to list
Signup Deadline: 01-13-2021



Attention: Applying for this award requires you to 1) complete the award application by selecting "apply today" from above and 2) submit an abstract via the abstract submission site


The Health in Aging Foundation New Investigator Awards are presented to individuals whose original research, as evidenced by a submitted abstract, reflects new and relevant insights in geriatrics. The award is designed to recognize individuals who are committed to a career in aging research.


The Health in Aging Foundation New Investigator Awards are open to junior investigators in medicine (i.e., physicians specializing in geriatrics, internal medicine, family medicine, psychiatry, etc.), nursing, social work, pharmacy, dentistry, psychology, physical or occupational therapy with a faculty appointment of no more than five years—or, if a visiting scholar, no more than five years since the completion of post-graduate training—with a demonstrated focus on aging/geriatrics research during the period of faculty appointment. The awards are intended to recognize the applicant's work in geriatrics, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing and all other relevant disciplines. The work reported must not have been published or presented at other national meetings. Applicants must be able to demonstrate a commitment to a research career in geriatrics as evidenced by research fellowship training or advanced degree training (i.e., MPH, MS, PhD, etc.) and a research focus related to aging or geriatrics. Applicants must demonstrate evidence of a record of accomplishments in aging/geriatrics research, such as

  • At least one first-author original aging/geriatrics research publication (not a review article);
  • Pilot funding awards for aging/geriatrics research;
  • Previous abstracts describing research investigations;
  • At least two poster/oral presentations of aging research at national meeting; or
  • At least one research grant submitted as principal investigator.

Applicants must also demonstrate evidence of a career plan related to aging research.

Topics are invited in basic research, clinical investigation, clinical medicine, and public health, as well as research in the fundamental neurosciences. No case studies or clinical vignettes will be considered. Awards will be chosen based on originality, scientific merit, relevance of the research, as well as the applicant's demonstrated commitment to and accomplishments in aging research.

By submitting an abstract for consideration, the investigator agrees to allow the committee the option to select the entry for presentation as a research paper or poster and agrees to make the presentation him/herself.

Application Process

Applications must include:

  • The candidate's biosketch (NIH-style, 4 pages maximum).
  • The research abstract. Abstracts must be submitted electronically to the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting via the abstract submission site.
  • Applicant letter. 
  • Three letters of recommendation (limited to 1 page per letter). Letters must attest to the applicant’s involvement in the AGS and the field of geriatrics, the applicant's primary role in the research, the importance and significance of the studies as well as the general research accomplishments of the investigator.


$1,000. These funds are intended, in part, to cover awardees' travel expenses to attend the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting. Since #AGS21 is completely virtual, these funds will be issued in 2022 for #AGS22. 

Past Recipients of the AGS New Investigator Award

2020 Awardees
Ashwin Kotwal, MD, MS
Daniel Parker, MD
Adam Simning, MD, PhD
Andrew Zullo, PharmD, ScM, PhD

2019 Awardees
Marlon J.R. Aliberti, MD, PhD
Claire K. Ankuda, MD, MPH, MSc
Rasheeda Hall, MD, MBA, MHS
Carolyn Presley, MD, MHS

2018 Awardees
Brienne Miner, MD, MHS
Lina Ma, MD, PhD
Victoria Tang, MD, MAS
Anil Makam, MD, MAS 

2017 Awardees
Andrew Cohen, PhD, MD
Lorena Gonzalez, MD
Benjamin Han, MD, MPH
Supakanya Wongrakpanich, MD

2016 Awardees
Lauren Ferrante, MD
Lee A. Jennings, MD, MSHS
David S.H. Lee, PharmD, PhD
Neelesh Nadkarni, MD, PhD, FRCPC
Nancy Schoenborn, MD
Anne Suskind, MD, MS

2015 Awardees
Jennifer Lai, MD, MBA
Michael LaMantia, MD, MPH
Una Makris, MD
John Newman, MD, PhD
Ryota Sakurai, PT, PhD

2014 Awardees
Ryan Greysen
Zachary Marcum
Bianca Buurman, RN, PhD
John A. Batsis, MD, FACP
John Dodson
Terrence E. Murphy, PhD

2013 Awardees
Peter Abadir, MD
C. Barrett Bowling, MD
Rebecca Brown, MD, MPH
Gelareh Gabayan, MD, MSHS

2012 Awardees
Christina Bell, MD, MSc
Noll Campbell, PharmD, FASCP, BCPP
Sandy Chang, MD
Dr. Oddom Demontiero MD, FRACP
Mieke Deschodt, RN, MSc, PhD student
Constance H. Fung, MD
Sei J. Lee, MD, MAS
Matthew T. Rondina, M.D.

2011 Awardees
Theresa A. Allison, MD, PhD
Laurie Archbald-Pannone, MD,  PhD
Marian Betz, MD,  PH
William Hung, MD, MPH
Toru Okura, MD, MSc
Kalpana P. Padala, MD, MS
Krupa Shah, MD, MPH

2010 Awardees   
Sarah D. Berry, MD, MPH
Sascha Dublin, MD, PhD
Jane L. Givens, MD, MSCE
Alison J. Huang, MD
Supriya G. Mohile, MD, MS
Esther S. Oh, MD
Ramona L. Rhodes, MD, MPH
Alexander K. Smith, MD, MPH
E. Camille Vaughan, MD, MS

2009 Awardees
Alayne D Markland
Amy S. Kelley
Angelo E. Volandes
Brie A Williams
Liat Ayalon, 
Rebecca L Sudore, SFVAMC
S. Nicole Hastings
Sara Elyse Espinoza
Sarwat Chaudhry

2008 Awardees
Alicia I Arbaje, MD, MPH
Carlos A. V. Fragoso, MD
Jalpa A. Doshi, PhD
Kevin M. Terrell, DO, MS
Manuel Montero Odasso, MD
Rachel L. Murkofsky, MD, MPH
Stasa Tadic, MD
Vineet M. Arora, MD

2007 Awardees
Cynthia J. Brown, MD, MSPH
Cynthia M. Boyd, MD, MPH
Heather E. Whitson, MD
Mara A. Schonberg, MD
Marsha N. Wittink, MD, MBE
Prasad R. Padala, MD
Roee Holtzer, PhD

2006 Awardees
Aanand D. Naik, MD 
David M. Dosa, MD 
Elbert S. Huang, MD
John A. Taylor, III, MD
Kaycee M. Sink, MD, MS
Lillian Min, MD
Lynn McNicoll, MD 
Sean X. Leng, MD, PhD


Dennise McAlpin
American Geriatrics Society