2023 Edward Henderson Student Award

To apply, please select "sign in" in the top right corner of the page to log in or create an account.

< return to list
Signup Deadline: 12-01-2022


The Edward Henderson Student Award is presented to an undergraduate student in a health professions program who is interested in pursuing a career in geriatrics and with demonstrated excellence in contributing to the field.


To be eligible for nomination, an undergraduate student in a health professions program including, but not limited to, dentistry, nursing, social work, pharmacy, occupational therapy, or physical therapy, must have demonstrated a commitment to the field of geriatrics through leadership in areas pertinent to geriatrics, the initiation of new information or programs in geriatrics, or scholarship in geriatrics through original research or reviews.

Nomination Process

The student must be nominated by one faculty member with at least two supporting letters of nomination from other faculty. The application packet must be compiled by the nominator and must include

  1. The nominating letter;
  2. Two accompanying letters of recommendation (limited to one page per letter);
  3. The student's curriculum vitae;
  4. A statement (approximately 150 words in length) from the student nominee describing his/her work and interest in geriatrics; and
  5. Supporting materials, such as copies of research papers, abstracts, or reports mentioned in support of the nominee. A syllabus of the program the student has participated in or will participate in may also be included. Only documented work will be reviewed or considered by the selection committee. 


$500 travel stipend to attend the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting.

Past Recipients of the Edward Henderson Student Award

2022      Justine Enns
2020      Natalie Richmond
2019      Elizabeth Bloemen, MPH
2018      Sonia Marcello
2017      Thom Ringer, JD
2016      Marielle Bolano, BS
2015      Meng Ni, PhD
2014      Ravi B Parikh
2013      Jason Liebowitz
2012      Vivien Sun
2011      Mark Fitzgerald, BS
2010      Carolyn P. Horney, MS-IV
2009      Elizabeth Kwo, BA
2008      Shayna Rich
2007      Andrew D. McWilliams, MPH, MS-III
2006      Juliesa Pavon, MS-3
2005      Christopher Allen Jones, MS
2004      Thomasina Lynn Bailey
2003      Kathleen Tschantz Unroe
2002      Katherine S. Garman
2001      Joy E. Cuezze
2000      Amit A. Shah


Denise McAlpin