2021 Clinician of the Year Award

To apply, please select "sign in" in the top right corner of the page to log in or create an account.

< return to list
Signup Deadline: 01-13-2021



This award was established to recognize the great contributions of practitioners for delivering quality healthcare for older people, as well as to showcase the importance of the geriatrics clinician in our healthcare system. Through these clinicians' efforts, scientific advances are integrated into the practice of geriatrics resulting in improved well-being and quality-of-life for older people.


We welcome nominations for exemplary geriatrics clinicians whose primary focus is on caring for older adults in the office, hospital, long-term care facility, or community. Nominees may have part-time clinical appointments at universities, but the majority of activities must be in the delivery of geriatrics care. Those holding part-time, clinical appointments at academic institutions should derive no more than 10% of their income from their university activities. Nominees must be AGS members.

The following list suggests some of the qualities or characteristics of the clinicians we wish to honor. Awardees should be dedicated to

  1. Maintaining a high level of professional competence through continuing medical education;
  2. Being available and accessible to patients;
  3. Communicating clearly and carefully with patients and their families;
  4. Being aware of the ethical and social issues inherent in the practice of medicine; and
  5. Contributing to community healthcare efforts.

Nomination Process

Nominations should consist of:
  • A letter of nomination. The nomination letter must attest to the nominee’s involvement in the AGS and the field of geriatrics and should specifically address how the individual's accomplishments relate to the purpose of the award. If the candidate has a part-time clinical appointment within a university teaching hospital, the nomination letter should also include the percentage of the candidate's salary that is supported by the university.
  • One additional letter of support from colleagues (limited to 1 page). 
  • The nominee's biosketch (NIH-style, 4 pages maximum). 

We encourage AGS state affiliates to nominate their members who meet the criteria for this award. Past candidates have been recipients of local "Clinician of the Year" awards before being nominated by state affiliates for this national honor.


$2,000 will be awarded to the recipient.

Past Recipients of the Clinician of the Year Award

2020     James Lin, DO, MS, MHSA
2019     Kellie Flood, MD
2018    J. Eugene Lammers, MD, MPH, FACP, AGSF
2017    Fatima Sheikh, MD, CMD, MPH
2016    Lisa Tank, MD, FACP
2015    Ronald S. Duemler, MD, MS, CMD
2014    Pamela S. Tronetti, DO, AGSF
2013    Rosemary D. Laird, MD, MHSA
2012    Niharika N Suchak, MBBS, MHS, FACP
2011    Margaret A. Noel, MD
2010    Jerome Epplin, MD, AGSF
2009    Michelle S. Eslami, MD
2008    Valisa Saunders, MN, APRN, BC, GNP
2007    Rebecca D. Elon, MD, MPH
2006    F. Michael Gloth, II, MD, FACP
2005    Henry Schneiderman, MD, FACP
2004    Roy Bradford Whitney, Jr., MD
2003    Taylor Graves, MD, Atlanta, GA
2002    Jerry M. Earll, MD, Washington, DC
2001    Daniel Haimowitz, MD, FACP, CMD, Levittown, PA
2000    Steven C. Castle, MD, Agoura Hills, CA
1999    Samuel C. Durso, MD, Baltimore, MD
1998    Mary Ann Forciea, MD, Philadelphia, PA
1995    Mary A. Johnson-Crockett, MD, Potomac, MD
1994    Gary E. Applebaum, MD, Baltimore, MD
1993    Francis Salerno, MD, Baltimore, MD


Denise McAlpin
American Geriatrics Society