2024 Clinical Student Research Award

To apply, please select "sign in" in the top right corner of the page to log in or create an account.

< return to list
Signup Deadline: 12-01-2023



This award will be presented to an undergraduate student in medicine, dentistry, nursing, social work, pharmacy, occupational therapy, or physical therapy for presenting considerable research at the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting


Selection is based on submission of a high-scoring abstract for presentation at the national AGS Annual Scientific Meeting, AND on evidence of an early and promising career in clinical geriatrics research, education, or public health (as demonstrated by supporting letter of recommendation and evidence of productivity in a curriculum vitae). Qualified applicants may have additional education, such as an MPH or MCS degree, but must be participants in a clinical education program in medicine, nursing, pharmacy, or similar degree-granting course of study.

Application Process

Applicants must submit an abstract of research or research-in-progress electronically via the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting abstract submission site. The student's curriculum vitae and a letter of support (limited to one page) from the student's advisor/research mentor outlining the student's role in the research, as well as his/her interest in and promise for an academic career in the appropriate aging-related field, must be uploaded using the nomination form. 

Please provide a 150-word summary statement of your nominees' achievements which we will use in our announcements and speeches. Your summary should focus on the impact that they have had or will have on the field of geriatrics.

Past Recipients of the Clinician Student Research Award

2023     Matthew Cosmai
    Dallas Mindo-Panusis, MAS 
2021      Linda H. Phung 
2020      Vanessa Ho, MS 
2019      Smrithi Sukumar 
2018      Michael Liu 
2017      Laura Hatchman 
               Jessica Rizzuto 
2016      Margaret Puelle, BS 
2015      Justin Yamamoto 
2014      Julie Thai, MPH 
               Lucille Brunker 
2013      Nerissa Duchin 
               Bianca Methvin 
2012      Israel (Riley) Peña, Jr. 
2011      Siobhan M. Case, BA, MS-II 
2010      Cynthia So, BS, MSII 


Denise McAlpin