2022 Outstanding Junior Clinician Educator Of The Year Award

To apply, please select "sign in" in the top right corner of the page to log in or create an account.

< return to list
Signup Deadline: 12-01-2021



This award will be given to an outstanding clinician educator junior faculty member (Assistant Professor/Instructor) for an impressive body of work in geriatric education.


This award is targeted to an AGS member clinician educator track junior faculty (Assistant Professors/Instructors) who are in the career development stage of their professional experience, and who have made a significant contribution to the education and training of students/trainees in geriatrics and health professions schools. The ideal candidate will have met some or all of the following criteria:

  • Significant contribution to the teaching of students/trainees;
  • Significant contribution to mentoring and providing career advice to students/trainees; and
  • Significant contribution to educational program development.

Teaching expertise as well as educational program development is valued in the selection of the recipient for this honor.

Nomination Process

The nomination should consist of a primary letter of nomination outlining the candidate's contributions as written by another educator who is familiar with the candidate's work and should include any involvement in the AGS. The application must include the candidate's biosketch (NIH-style, 4 pages maximum) and a mentoring table/summary and one supporting letter of recommendation (limited to 1 page). Nominations will be reviewed and the awardee selected by the Awards Committee of the AGS.


To recognize his/her outstanding achievement, the awardee will receive a letter documenting the award and a framed certificate will be presented during the Awards Ceremony at the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting.

Past Recipients Of The Outstanding Junior Clinician Educator Of The Year Award

Past Recipients of the Outstanding Junior Clinician Educator of the Year Award

2021      Pei Chen, MD
2020      Nina Blachman, MD, MHPE
2019      Skotti Church, MD
2018      Andrea Wershof Schwartz, MD, MPH
2017      Kristen Thornton, MD, FAAFP, AGSF, CWSP
2016      Jessica Colburn, MD
2015      Shaida Talebreza Brandon, MD
2014      Danelle Cayea, MD, MS
2013      Manuel Eskildsen, MD, MPH, CMD


Denise McAlpin