2024 Outstanding Mid-Career Clinician Educator Of The Year Award

To apply, please select "sign in" in the top right corner of the page to log in or create an account.

< return to list
Signup Deadline: 12-01-2023



This award will be given to an outstanding clinician educator junior faculty member (Associate Professor) for an impressive body of work in geriatric education.


This award is targeted to a mid-career clinician educator (Associate Professor) who has made significant contributions to the education and training of students/trainees in geriatrics and in health professions schools. The ideal candidate will have met some or all of the following criteria:

  • Significant contribution to the teaching of students/trainees;
  • Significant contribution to mentoring and providing career advice to students/trainees/junior faculty; and/or
  • Significant contribution to educational program development.

Teaching expertise as well as educational program development is valued in the selection of the recipient for this honor. 

Nomination Process

The nomination should consist of a primary letter of nomination outlining the candidate's contributions written by another educator who is familiar with the candidate’s contributions. The application should also include the candidate's biosketch (NIH-style, 4 pages maximum) and a mentoring table/summary and one or two supporting letters of recommendation. Nominations will be reviewed and the awardee selected by the Awards Committee of the AGS. 

Please provide a 150- word summary statement of your nominees' achievements which we will use in our announcements and speeches. Your summary should focus on the impact they have had or will have on the field of geriatrics.


To recognize his/her outstanding achievement, the awardee will receive a letter documenting the award and an award certificate.

Past Recipients of the Outstanding Mid-Career Clinical Educator of the Year Award

2023    Todd James, MD, AGSF 
2022    Ravishankar Ramaswamy, MD, AGSF
2021     Jorge Camilo Mora, MD, MPH 
2020      Mandi Sehgal, MD
2019      Colleen Christmas, MD, FACP
2018      Amit Shah, MD, FACP, AGSF
2017      Lisa Walke, MD, MSHA, AGSF
2016      Anna Chang, MD
2015      Susan Parks, MD
2014      Louise Aronson, MD
2013      Helen Fernandez, MD


Denise McAlpin