2024 Thomas And Catherine Yoshikawa Award

To apply, please select "sign in" in the top right corner of the page to log in or create an account.

< return to list
Signup Deadline: 12-01-2023


Outstanding Scientific Achievement In Clinical Investigation


This award recognizes outstanding achievement in clinical research addressing health problems for older adults as evaluated by an investigator actively involved in direct care. The award takes into consideration independence of thought and originality in research.


This award targets mid-career clinician-investigators actively involved in geriatric care who have accomplished meritorious clinical research and transitioned beyond the career-development stage of their work. The ideal candidate is an individual who has achieved the Associate Professor rank or has been awarded an RO1-type grant (or the equivalent). The award is not intended to recognize accomplishments in basic or animal research. This award is designed to recognize particularly meritorious research accomplishments for those who can be considered independent investigators, but is not intended to recognize the most mature and experienced senior clinical investigators in the field. The candidate should be a resident of the United States or Canada.

Nomination Process

The nomination should consist of a primary letter of nomination outlining the candidate's research contributions and participation in geriatric care, his/her biosketch (NIH-style, 4 pages maximum), reprints of up to three publications illustrating the nominee’s most important contributions to the field (at least one of these publications must be from the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (JAGS)), and one or two supporting letters of recommendation (limited to one page each). The nominee should continue to be engaged in the line of research for which the award is made. Nominations will be reviewed and the awardee selected by the Research Committee of the AGS.


The name of the recipient will be announced in the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. The recipient will be invited to present a lecture describing his/her most important research accomplishments at the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting and will be invited to submit a paper summarizing this work for potential publication in JAGS. The paper will be reviewed under the usual editorial policies of JAGS.

Please provide a 150-word summary statement of your nominees' achievements which we will use in our announcements and speeches. Your summary should focus on the impact that they have had or will have on the field of geriatrics.


$1,500 will be awarded to the recipient.

Past Recipients of the Thomas and Catherine Yoshikawa Outstanding Scientific Achievement for Clinical Investigation Award

2023   Dae Kim, MD, MPH, ScD
2022   Amy S. Kelly, MD, MSHS
2020   Alexander Smith, MD, MS, MPH
2019   Amy Kind, MD, PhD
2018   Heather Whitson, MD, MHS
2017   Sei Lee, MD, MAS
2016   Mara Schonberg, MD, MPH
2015   Rebecca Sudore, MD
2014   XinQi Dong, MD, MPH
2013   Cynthia J. Brown, MD, MSPH
2012   Malaz A. Boustani, MD, MPH
2011   Catherine A. Sarkisian, MD, MSPH   
2010   Cynthia M. Boyd, MD, MPH
2009   Louise C. Walter, MD
2008   R. Sean Morrison, MD
2007   Eric A. Coleman, MD, MPH
2006   David J. Cassaret, MD, MS
2005   Joe Verghese, MBBS, MS
2004   Terri R. Fried, MD
2003   Edward Marcantonio, MD, Boston, MA
2002   James T. Pacala, MD, Minneapolis, MN
2001   Thomas M. Gill, MD, New Haven, CT
2001   Greg A. Sachs, MD, Chicago, IL
2000   Elizabeth Capezuti, PhD, RN


Denise McAlpin