2019 Thomas and Catherine Yoshikawa Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement for Clinical Investigation

To apply, please select "sign in" in the top right corner of the page to log in or create an account.

< return to list
Signup Deadline: 12-03-2018



This award recognizes outstanding achievement in clinical research addressing health problems for older adults as evaluated by an investigator actively involved in direct care. The award takes into consideration independence of thought and originality in research.


This award targets mid-career clinician-investigators actively involved in geriatric care who have accomplished meritorious clinical research and transitioned beyond the career-development stage of their work. The ideal candidate is an individual who has achieved the Associate Professor rank or has been awarded an RO1-type grant (or the equivalent). The award is not intended to recognize accomplishments in basic or animal research. This award is designed to recognize particularly meritorious research accomplishments for those who can be considered independent investigators, but is not intended to recognize the most mature and experienced senior clinical investigators in the field. The candidate should be a resident of the United States or Canada.

Nomination Process

The nomination should consist of:
  • A primary letter of nomination outlining the candidate's research contributions and participation in geriatric care.
  • A biosketch (NIH-style, 4 pages maximum) and mentoring table/summary.
  • Reprints of up to three publications illustrating the nominee’s most important contributions to the field (at least one of these publications must be published in the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (JAGS)).
  • Up to two supporting letters of recommendation (limited to 1 page each).
The nominee should continue to be engaged in the line of research for which the award is made. Nominations will be reviewed and the awardee selected by the AGS Research Committee.


The name of the recipient will be announced in the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. The recipient will be invited to present a lecture describing his/her most important research accomplishments at the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting and will be invited to submit a paper summarizing this work for potential publication in JAGS. The paper will be reviewed under the usual editorial policies of JAGS.


$2,000 will be awarded to the recipient.

Past Recipients of the Thomas and Catherine Yoshikawa Outstanding Scientific Achievement for Clinical Investigation Award

2018    Heather E. Whitson, MD, MHS
2017    Sei Lee, MD, MAS
2016    Mara Schonberg, MD, MPH
2015    Rebecca Sudore, MD
2014    XinQi Dong, MD, MPH
2013    Cynthia J. Brown, MD, MSPH
2012    Malaz A. Boustani, MM, MPH
2011    Catherine A. Sarkisian, MD, MSPH2010   
2010    Cynthia M. Boyd, MD, MPH
2009    Louise C. Walter, MD
2008    R. Sean Morrison, MD
2007    Eric A. Coleman, MD, MPH
2006    David J. Cassaret, MD, MS
2005    Joe Verghese, MBBS, MS
2004    Terri R. Fried, MD
2003    Edward Marcantonio, MD, Boston, MA
2002    James T. Pacala, MD, Minneapolis, MN
2001    Thomas M. Gill, MD, New Haven, CT
2001    Greg A. Sachs, MD, Chicago, IL
2000    Elizabeth Capezuti, PhD, RN
1999    Mark A. Supiano, MD
1998    Sharon K. Inouye, MD 
1992    Mary Tinetti, MD
1991    Larry Rubenstein, MD, MPH


Dennise McAlpin
American Geriatrics Society