2024 Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award

To apply, please select "sign in" in the top right corner of the page to log in or create an account.

< return to list
Signup Deadline: 12-01-2023


Dennis W. Jahnigen, MD (1947-1998), was acclaimed as an extraordinary teacher, receiving numerous awards from students and faculty. In 1998, the AGS awarded him the Milo D. Leavitt Award to recognize his distinguished career in geriatrics education. Dr. Jahnigen's clinical skills and heartfelt, compassionate concern for older adults continue to flourish in the many students who have benefited from his teaching and mentorship.


This award is given annually to an AGS member who has provided leadership to train students in geriatrics and has contributed significantly to the progress of geriatrics education in health professions schools. Teaching expertise as well as educational program development is valued in the selection of the recipient for this honor.

Nomination Process 

Nominations must consist of a letter of nomination, at least one additional letter of support from colleagues, and the nominee's biosketch. The nomination letters should specifically address how the individual's accomplishments relate to the purpose of the award.

Please provide a 150-word summary statement of your nominees' achievements which we will use in our announcements and speeches. Your summary should focus on the impact that they have had or will have on the field of geriatrics.


$1,500 will be awarded to the recipient.

Past Recipients of the Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award

2023      Kathryn Denson, MD
2022      Mitchell T. Heflin, MD
2021      Helen Fernandez, MD, MPH
2020      John Murphy, MD
2019      Nicole Brandt, PharmD, MBA, BCGP, BCPP, FASCP
2018      Jane Potter, MD, AGSF
2017      Maura Brennan, MD, AGSF, FACP, FAAHPM, HMDC
2016      Annette (Annie) Medina-Walpole, MD, AGSF
2015      Barbara Resnick, PhD, RN, CRNP, FAAN, FAANP, AGSF
2014      Elizabeth K. Tanner, PhD, RN
2013      Gail Sullivan, MD, MPH
2012      Leo M Cooney, Jr., MD
2011      Sharon A. Levine, MD
2010      G. Paul Eleazer, MD
2009      Samuel C. Durso, MD, MBA
2008      Rosanne M. Leipzig, MD, PhD
2007      Steven R. Counsell, MD
2006      Kenneth Brummel-Smith, MD
2005      Harvey Jay Cohen, MD
2004      Terry T. Fulmer, PhD, RN, FAAN
2003      William Hall, MD, Rochester, NY
2002      Gregg A. Warshaw, MD, Cincinnati, OH
2001      Evelyn C. Granieri, MD, Pittsburgh, PA
2000      David B. Reuben, MD, Los Angeles, CA


Denise McAlpin